Mt. Sanbe’s Topography

Mt. Sanbe is the collective name for six peaks clustered within the caldera of an ancient volcano known as “Old Sanbe” (kosanbe). Old Sanbe erupted for the first time around 100,000 years ago, forming a massive lava dome that makes up the surrounding topography. Over the next 96,000 years or so, subsequent eruptions created the six peaks that today form a loose ring within the expansive caldera.
The names of Sanbe’s four highest peaks reflect a familial relationship: Osanbe (1,126 m), Mesanbe (953 m), Kosanbe (961 m), and Magosanbe (903 m) respectively mean “man,” “woman,” “child,” and “grandchild.” These four peaks, along with Taiheizan (854 m), formed from the most recent eruption, around 4,000 years ago. The sixth peak, Hikageyama (697 m), is much older—it was created around 20,000 years ago and is the oldest visible part of Mt. Sanbe.
Hiking trails on all sides of the mountain lead to the summit. There is also a loop trail leading from the top of Osanbe to the peaks of Kosanbe, Magosanbe, Taiheizan, and Mesanbe, allowing hikers to traverse the entire summit ring.
On clear days, the view from Mt. Sanbe extends as far as the Sea of Japan and to Mt. Daisen in Tottori Prefecture.